Posted by: 1hime | February 1, 2011

Single Kettlebell 20/20 Strength and Conditioning + Forever 21!

I returned back to the office on Monday, January 24th, 2011. Needless to say, I fell behind as so many things occurred in my absence (good stuff though). The time off from work was much needed. I returned feeling refreshed. I definitely have a new perspective on things. The first thing I want to say is that I’m proud to be an American. There’s no place like the USA. That’s how I feel and what I see. I’ve traveled abroad several times to many places. There’s definitely no place like home. 🙂

From the training front, I know I’m behind in reporting what I’ve been up to. With that said, here’s a brief description of what I did and then I’ll go into more details with regard to my workout at CrossFit on Tuesday, January 25th.

Monday – Recovery Day. I wanted to give my body some recovery time in preparation for the week’s training.
Tuesday – 3 mile easy run + CrossFit class @ Avon-By-The-Sea. 🙂
Wednesday – 3 mile easy run + Pilates.
Thursday – 3 mile easy run + Pilates.
Friday – Recovery Day.
Saturday – Interval workout on the treadmill. Did a total of 5.15 miles. The workout was 6x 400m.
Sunday – 6 mile easy run.

My birthday was on Tuesday 1/25. I decided to take the day off from work so I may enjoy MY day! I had a great day! I finally turned 21! 😉 My day was productive. In the morning, I had a follow-up visit with my nutritionist. We reviewed my test results and there were some improvements and areas where I needed to make corrections on. I learned a lot. I’ve been learning a lot about myself. This has definitely been a journey. After the appointment, I returned home, changed, and went out for a run in my neighborhood. It was cold out (26 degrees) but the roads were runable, LOL! I completed my 3 mile easy run, rested for a bit, and then went to Avon to attend the 4pm CrossFit class.

The class was a strength/conditioning combo. We started out with a 5 minute joint mobility and then a two round kettlebell warm up.

There were 3 single kettlebell strength stations. The workout consisted of 6 rounds of 20 seconds work/20 seconds rest at each station. We had to finish all six sets on each side before we proceeded to the next station. There was a 2 minute recovery between each station. The workout entailed the following:

kettlebell clean and press r/l
Kettlebell split squat r/l (one arm racked or goblet)
One arm kettlebell row r/l

We concluded the workout with 5 rounds of abs 20 seconds work/20 seconds rest:

Plank
Side Plank

Last week was a good week of training. I’m hoping to keep this up this week and upcoming weeks. NYC Half is quickly approaching! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

