Posted by: 1hime | December 30, 2010

Thursday Kettlebell and Body Weight Conditioning + Updates

I can’t believe we are a day and a few hours away from 2011! Wishing everyone a happy, healthy, and prosperous New Year! πŸ™‚

As for an update, Tuesday was a recovery day. All the shoveling on Monday was a little much for this warrior princess, LOL! I decided to take it easy. It took me an hour and a half to get to work Tuesday morning. It wasn’t that bad. Too little time, too much to do….However, the plan is to be more efficient with time in 2011. Stay tuned for more information.

I went to Ballys Wednesday (yesterday) and did an hour cardio on the elliptical machine. I did 5.75 miles. Not the greatest but I was focusing on resistance and heart rate. I kept my heart rate between fat burning and endurance zones. I’m slowly preparing myself to get into more serious training. Just taking it one step at a time. While working out, I saw my beautiful friend Linda! It was great seeing her. She looks awesome as usual. We were chatting about weight gain and it seems that 4 pounds is a recurring number for this time of year. Linda, I don’t know what you’re talking about. You look great as usual! πŸ™‚ Easy come, easy go! Go away pounds! LOL!

CrossFit in Avon was closed on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. Though they were able to plow the snow, there was no room to park in the area due to the massive amount of snow. Great! It was ok though. It was nice that Mike updated the status on Facebook. That actually saved me a trip to Avon today. I decided to improvise instead. I emailed Mike to assist me with online access to videos and workouts. I was able to do the workout at home. I own a couple of kettlebells (12kg and 16kg). I’m not quite ready for the 16kg but will be soon.

I started the CrossFit workout at 6:50pm. I didn’t do today’s suggested workout but decided to do yesterday’s (Kettlebell and Body Weight Conditioning). The workout details are as follows:

20 kettlebell swings or hand to hand swings (I did the kettlebell swings)
15 mountain climbers
10 jerks or push presses 5/5 (I opted for the push press)
5 pull ups or ring rows. If you don’t have rings or a pull up bar, do 5 burpees (I did the burpees)

The goal was to get as many rounds in 20 minutes with the ultimate goal being 10 rounds. I was able to get in 9 rounds in a little over 23 minutes. I wanted to do 10 but was exhausted and did not want to compromise my form so I just stopped at 9 rounds.

Before the workout I did an extensive warm-up (joint mobility, body weight, and kettlebell warm up) which was published in the Training Room’s video library. This was a 14 1/2 minute warm-up. Yeah, it was great! πŸ™‚ I felt like I was at the gym doing the workouts. Thanks again Mike for assisting me with the online access. I couldn’t have done this workout this evening at home without your help!

Looking forward to the last day of 2010! I might reflect on a few accomplishments I had this year.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Categories

