Posted by: 1hime | December 27, 2010

Spin + Static Strength

Friday, December 24th, was a good day! I had went to bed early the night before and was able to get up at 4:55a to head to the 5:45a spin class @ LA Fitness. šŸ™‚ I checked my logs and noticed that I haven’t been to spin class since Friday, July 30th. I can’t believe it’s been that long since I’ve attended the class. I was very pleased that I made it that early in the morning. We were off from work on Christmas Eve so I took advantage of the day off to do what I enjoy most. Working out! šŸ™‚

I struggled in the class a bit because it’s been such a while. Although I’ve been working on my cardio in other areas, my body wasn’t conditioned for the bike. Cycling works different muscle groups. I took it easy but challenged myself at the same time. I kept track of my heart rate to gauge my effort. I was in both the fat burning and cardio zones. I’m sure after a few more spin classes I’ll be back to where I was in the summer.

I went home, showered, and rested for a bit. I then prepared myself to head to Avon for the 12pm CrossFit class. Mike taught the class. We did static holds. We did this workout 3 weeks ago (Friday, December 10th). The workout entailed 40/20 x5 of the following (i.e. 40 sec work/20 sec recovery, 5 rounds):

Pull up or ring row (I did the ring row)
Squat Holds (with 30lb medicine ball)
Overhead Walk (with 2 x 20lb KB)
Lower Back (Alternating between Supermans on the mat and on the chair)
Plank/Power Wheel/ L sit hold (I alternated between the 3 ab workouts. I started with the L Sit holds. Did that twice, then did the plank, and concluded with the Power Wheel twice).

There was a minute recovery between each round. However, we did the first 2 rounds consecutively. The first minute recovery was after the 2nd round. Mike didn’t think we needed the break, LOL! He’s cool. Mike said that morning groups didn’t want to do the L Sit holds. We asked him to demonstrate. He was surprised that a handful of us did it. That’s what’s up! šŸ˜‰ There were 10 of us in the noon session. The 9am session had about 27 participants!

Christmas day was a recovery day. It was nice to relax after a long week. I went to my friend Sabreen’s house to chill. We had dinner with the family. Good times!

Leave a Reply

Categories

