Posted by: 1hime | December 12, 2010

Sunday Swim and Pilates

I had another early start this morning. I went to the gym and swam. I did 52 laps (i.e. 1300m). I’m very proud of myself. This was the longest swim session I had since summer training for the sprint triathlon. I knew my running friends were doing their long runs this morning. It was raining cats and dogs. I wanted to be there with them but I shared the same wet experience in a different way. πŸ˜‰

When I started the session, I had initially intended to do 32 laps. The first 10 laps were the most challenging as I believe my body was still warming up. As I progressed I felt more comfortable. This was the first time since the race that I felt I was swimming in a rhythm. My mind was at ease. I felt great! With all these factors working to my advantage, I decided to take advantage of the opportunity and continue with the session; hence finishing up at 52 laps.

I can confidently say that I graduated from Mermaid school with honors, LOL! πŸ˜‰ I am now a swimmer and am proud of it. Swimming is not my strongest suit. I hope it will be one day. However, I am a runner at heart. πŸ™‚

The early part of the afternoon was spent with my dear friend Susan. We had coffee and chatted at a local Starbucks. I have not had coffee for 4 months now. However, I ordered a Tall Peppermint Mocha with whip cream. For those who are not familiar with the Starbucks cup size, a Tall is 12oz. Later I checked the nutritional facts of the drink and was glad that I went with the small (tall) size. I found out that this drink has 300 calories, 9g fat, 51g of carbs, and 10g protein. The carbs and sugar on this is through the roof! It’s ok to indulge once in a while. I was a bit saddened because I missed out on my favorite drink of all times. The Pumpkin Spice latte. Oh well, perhaps I’ll catch it on time next year. πŸ™‚

Early evening I did a 20 minute pilates session that focused on hip strength. I felt good about it. I feel like I’m making progress with building up some strength in those large muscle groups.

Just remember to do your best and don’t worry about the rest. πŸ™‚

Bring it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

