Posted by: 1hime | December 10, 2010

Static Strength and Stability – Friday 12/10/10 – Part I

When you want your goal badly enough, feel the intensity of it, let it fuel your waking thoughts and actions, let it influence you in all ways possible and let nothing get in the way of achieving it. – Kimerly Adamson

Today is a special day for me. It’s been 2 months since I starting blogging. I started on 10/10/10. šŸ™‚ I’ve been contemplating the thought of blogging for quite a while (about 2 years). I decided to go ahead and start writing simply to express my thoughts. 2010 has been an interesting year for me on many different levels (good and bad). I hope that

I took the day off from work in lieu of the vacation that I had to cancel. I was going to leave for vacation on 12/8 but things simply didn’t work out. I was extremely disappointed and depressed when I found out on Saturday evening. They say time assists in the healing process. I concur with that statement.

I got up at my usual time to start the day (6:30a). I went to CrossFit in Avon to attend the group session at 9am. It was a great class. Very different from what I’ve experienced in previous sessions. Today’s workout was static focusing on both strength and stability. We did 5 rounds 40/20 (40 seconds in static position and 20 seconds to move and get ready for the next station) of the following exercises:

Squat hold (I did this with a 25 lb medicine ball. The last round I did with a 30 lb med ball)
Overhead walks – with two 8KG KB – walking with KB overhead
Lower back – the option was doing Supermans or back extension on the Roman chair holding two 10lb dumbells
Plank workout or power wheels
Ring row or pull ups – Of course, I did the ring rows. I’m building myself to do a full pull up. I’m getting there. šŸ™‚

There was a minute recovery between rounds. The workout was definitely challenging. I love to challenge myself when it comes to fitness. I recognize that there’s definitely a lot of room for improvement. I’m taking it one step at a time. šŸ™‚ I’m pleased that both my left ankle and right calf are no longer bothering me. This is a positive step in the right direction.

I have a few things planned for the rest of day. Stay tuned for Part II. šŸ˜‰

Lastly, I wanted to wish my dear Kitty Kat a very Happy Birthday.

Leave a Reply

Categories

