Posted by: 1hime | December 6, 2010

New Beginning

A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step. – Lao Tzu

I love this quote because it reminds me of how one must take action in order for things to happen. In order to be successful, one must make things happen as opposed to sitting around and asking: “what happened?”. I say this because this weekend was a rough one for me. I know it’s easier said than done, but I decided to move forward and make things happen. The past few days I was simply in a funk. I’m slowly getting out of it. One thing I’ll say is those darn sharks are up for discussion. The good news is I continue to tell myself that things happen for a reason. I’m sure the best is yet to come. πŸ™‚

Friday, Saturday, and Sunday were recovery days for me. I didn’t do a thing (exercise wise). Tonight was a little different. I was pleased to have gotten out of work on time (5pm). I went home and did my usual routine. After I prepared for the following day, I spent 25 minutes doing some light exercise: 20 minutes pilates focusing on hip strength and 100 ab crunches. I love core workouts. The stronger the core, the taller I will be running. πŸ™‚

I found this article the other day: “5 Things to Cut Out of Your Diet.” I read it and would like to comment on a few things based on my experience. The article discusses 5 foods that you should cut out of your diet if you’re trying to accelerate your metabolism:

1. Processed Sugars. I agree with the author.
2. Alcohol. I completely agree. I’m not an alcohol drinker to begin with so this works to my advantage. πŸ˜‰
3. Caffeine. This is a toughy. I used to drink 3-4 cups of coffee a day. However, I’ve stopped drinking coffee and other caffeinated beverages for the past 15 weeks now. It was hard in the beginning but like with anything else your body gets used to it after a while. My nutritionist helped me with this.
4. Anything with a Face. This is a difficult one. I am a meat eater. I love steak. I don’t think I’m ready to convert to a vegan. However, I stay on the lean side of the meat selection (turkey, chicken, beef, etc.). I also try to buy organic when I can.
5. Gluten. I honestly didn’t learn about this until I started the program with the nutritionist. He told me that if I wanted to lose fat then I must eat gluten free. I was alarmed when I read the part about the glue. Scary…

So, let’s take the first step to reaching our goals!

Be well! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Categories

