Posted by: 1hime | November 29, 2010

Ankle

I had an early start this morning. I was up very early. I went to the gym to do some cross training. I was on the elliptical for 50 minutes. I started the workout at 5:55am. I was pleased that I felt great. I definitely need to continue working on my cardio. I’ll get there. Very soon. 🙂

I had an appointment with the Sports Medicine Doctor this afternoon. He checked on my ankle and said that I have a mild sprain. Thank God! Nothing major.The swelling went away a couple of days after the incident occurred. He said that I have the common type of sprain (stretching of the ATL – Anterior Talofibular Ligament) and the average recovery time is about two weeks. He suggested that I stay on the conservative side and give it an extra week or two while strenghthening the ankle before I get back to running. My balancing on the left side was slightly compromised due to the sprain. The doctor provided me with a few ankle strength exercises to do at home. These exercises are: alphabet writing (writing the alphabet in the air with toe), proprioceptive training (balancing on one foot and then gradually upgrade to balancing on a towel and then Bosu, one legged squats, etc.), and then test out some ankle agility exercises such as single leg hops, etc. The good news is I’m on the mend. 🙂 The not so good news is I have to be patient yet again and wait for everything to take its course. I’m accepting the challenge and will continue to be patient. 🙂 I will continue to cross train and strength train until I’m ready to get back on track. 😉

I wanted to mention that when I advised my Coach about my spraining the ankle, he shared a good article with me. I have never encountered such an issue before. After I read the article, I immediately scheduled the appointment with the doctor and followed the simple instructions. My Coach also helped me with compression. Believe it or not, I had no clue how to do it. He suggested that I get an ankle brace (which I did) and it worked. 🙂 I have to say though that both icing and elevation contributed to the speedy recovery.

Here’s to a speedy recovery! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

