Posted by: 1hime | November 28, 2010

Thanksgiving

I hope everyone enjoyed the Thanksgiving festivities. 🙂 It’s always great to spend time with friends and family. The best part of the Thanksgiving holiday is having a 4 day weekend. 😉

I would like to take a few minutes to mention a few things that I’m thankful and grateful for. First, I’m grateful to be alive and healthy. There are many people in this world who, unfortunately, are not. Secondly, I’m grateful that I’ve made great friends throughout the years. To all my friends, I thank you all for being a part of my life. Your presence, whether in person or virtual, means a lot to me. You make me smile, laugh, ponder, and sometimes you challenge me. I am also thankful for my youngest sister who is there for me when I need her. She listens when it appears that no one else in this world wants to. She, like most of my friends, understands me for who I am and appreciates me for who I am. I am thankful for that.

I know I’ve been MIA for a few weeks now. I noticed that this is my third blog. When I started blogging I had intended to write more frequently. Life, however, took a toll on me. So I’ve been distracted for that purpose. Now that a few things are under control, I plan to write more frequently to share some adventures that I encounter. I actually have very interesting stories that occur at work. I may share them at some point. I want to focus on sharing my experience as it pertains to nutrition, fitness, and running. 🙂

Today marks day 106 in my nutrition plan. It’s truly amazing how time flies. I’ve been keeping a food journal since I started working with the nutritionist. The journal is good for 90 days. I had bought and started another journal a couple of weeks ago. As I was preparing to write down my personal goals for the next 90 days, I took notice that the goals I had written for the previous 90 days were fulfilled. I was flabbergasted. Unbeknownst to me, the goals I had set when I started the program were achieved! 🙂 With that in mind, for the next 90 days I have written more aggressive goals that I plan to accomplish. 🙂 This will be a true journey for me as I look forward to a major transformation. 🙂 So bear with me as I embark on this new journey. 🙂

From the running front, I encountered a minor setback. 😥 As I was doing an easy 4 mile run in the morning of Thursday, November 18th, I twisted my left ankle twice! That has never happened to me. I fell “gracefully” the second time I twisted my ankle. Needless to say, my left ankle swelled up later that evening. Luckily, it subsided and was gone in a couple of days using the RICE method (rest, ice, compression, and elevation). I have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow (Monday 11/29) to see how things are going. I’m happy that there’s no pain or discomfort. I think the ankle got weaker though. It’ll get back strong before soon. 🙂 So I am grateful and thankful that I didn’t break anything or seriously hurt myself that morning. I’m a firm believer that things happen for a reason. Although I don’t know why this incident occurred that morning, I believe that there’s something good waiting for me in the future. Bring it on! 🙂

Over the long holiday weekend, I came across this article: “10 Tips to Control Your Weight This Holiday Season“. I encourage you to spend a few minutes reading it. The article offers some great tips to overcome weight gain during the holiday season. Think of it this way. Other people have lost weight and stayed in shape during this time. You can too!

I look forward to writing again soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

